Second Season of 3 Kapu Kawhe™ Mentorship Programme Unveiled with Expanded Mentor Lineup

Auckland, New Zealand – MYLN (Multiethnic Young Leaders NZ) is thrilled to announce the second season of our 3 Kapu Kawhe™ Mentorship Programme, launched in 2023. The 2024 mentor lineup features an exceptional array of leaders from New Zealand’s government and business sectors, all committed to supporting this kaupapa (initiative) as mentors and contributing to our mission of building Aotearoa New Zealand’s pipeline of ethnically diverse future leaders across business, government, and community sectors.

The short-term mentoring programme pairs ethnically diverse young leaders in the formative years of their careers (mentees) with experienced New Zealand executives and directors (mentors) for three transformative conversations.

Mentees pay it forward by having three cups of coffee with a student leader in tertiary education or their final year of high school (student mentee), creating a ripple effect that supports the development of young, diverse leaders across multiple generations. The programme purposefully connects mentors and mentees from different ethnic and cultural backgrounds, bringing together individuals who might not typically cross paths. This aligns with MYLN’s commitment to strengthening social cohesion.

We are thrilled to share that every mentor from our inaugural 2023 cohort has chosen to remain involved with the programme in various capacities. We are incredibly grateful for their commitment to nurturing the next generation of leaders, strengthening social cohesion, and fostering whanaungatanga and cross-cultural understanding. Our returning mentors, listed alphabetically by first name, are:

  • Andrew Poole – Chief Executive, MinterEllisonRuddWatts
  • Craig Hudson – General Manager of Export Customers, New Zealand Trade and Enterprise
  • Jane Wrightson – Retirement Commissioner; Chair; Independent Director
  • Jo Avenell – CEO, Russell McVeagh
  • Kellie Coombes – Secretary for Women and Chief Executive, Manatū Wāhine Ministry for Women, New Zealand
  • Kirsten (KP) Patterson – Chief Executive, Institute of Directors in New Zealand
  • Marc Rivers – Chief Financial Officer, International Committee of the Red Cross – ICRC
  • Matthew Prichard – Executive Chair, KPMG New Zealand
  • Mike Horne – Chief Executive, Deloitte New Zealand
  • Tracey Taylor – CEO; Independent Director
  • Vanessa Stoddart – Independent Director


Alongside our returning mentors, we are excited to welcome eight new mentors to the 3 Kapu Kawhe™ mentorship community. The following new mentors for 2024, listed alphabetically by first name, have been nominated and endorsed by their peers, colleagues, communities, and the general public for their tireless efforts in supporting young talent, promoting diversity, equity and inclusion, and shaping a more inclusive Aotearoa:

  • David Butler – Board Chair, Russell McVeagh
  • Gaye Searancke – Chief Executive on Assignment, Te Kawa Mataaho Public Service Commission; Chief Executive, Toitū Te Whenua Land Information New Zealand
  • Jolie Hodson – Chief Executive, Spark New Zealand
  • Laura Scampion – Managing Partner, DLA Piper New Zealand
  • Martin Gaskell – Chief Transformation & Operations Officer, Westpac New Zealand
  • Ross Buckley – Independent Director
  • Susan Peterson – Chair, Independent Director and Investor
  • Thor Gudjonsson – Deputy Commissioner, Te Kawa Mataaho Public Service Commission


The programme officially kicks off in June 2024, following the notification of the new mentoring pairs. It concludes with a formal graduation celebration in late November, offering an opportunity for all mentors, mentees, and student mentees to come together and celebrate their journey.

To learn more and apply, please visit:

About MYLN

MYLN (Multiethnic Young Leaders NZ) is a network of ethnically diverse young leaders between the ages of 18 and 35 who are committed to strengthening social cohesion, championing ethnic and intersectional diversity in leadership, and empowering diverse young New Zealanders.